Enquire now about this focus area.



Kuwait, whose official name is the State of Kuwait. is situated in the northern edge of Eastern Arabia at the tip of the Persian Gulf.
In 1938 Oil reserves were discovered in commercial quantities and Kuwait underwent large scale modernization from 1946 to 1982, its Oil reserves are now the worlds 6th largest. According to the World Bank the nation has the highest valued currency in the world and the fourth highest per capita income ranking it 12th in 2011.

Kuwait’s population is in the region of 4.5 to 5 million of which some 1.3 million are Kuwaitis. Kuwait is a constitutional sovereign state.
Kuwait’s first leader was His Highness Sheikh Abu Sabah bin Jaber Al Sabah and its current leader is His Highness Sabah Al – Ahmad Al- Jaber Al- Sabah. The current Head of Government is Prime Minister Jabir Al- Mubarak al- Hamadal -Sabah (since 30 November 2011).
Kuwait is comprised as to 6 Administrative divisions, or governorates (muhafazat, singular – muhafazah); Al Ahmadi, Al ‘Asimah, Al Farwaniyah, Al Jahra’, Hawalli, Mubarak al Kabir and it celebrates its national day on 25th February each year.

The following are some further facts about this great nation:
• national Capital and largest city: Kuwait City
• major language: Arabic
• religion: Muslim (official) 74.6%, Christian 18.2%, other and unspecified 7.2% (2013 est.)
• monetary unit: Kuwaiti Dinar
• alternative names: Al Kuwayt, Dawlat al Kuwayt, Kuwait, State of Kuwait
• land mass: 17,818 sq km
• Legal system: mixed legal system consisting of English common law, French civil law, and Islamic sharia law
• Chief of State: Amir SABAH al-Ahmad al-Jabir al-Sabah (since 29 January 2006); Crown Prince NAWAF al-Ahmad al-Jabir al-Sabah
• Parliament: unicameral National Assembly or Majlis al-Umma (65 seats; 50 members directly elected from 5 multi-seat constituencies by simple majority vote and 15 ex-officio members (cabinet ministers) appointed by the amir; members serve 4-year terms)
• highest courts: Constitutional Court (consists of 5 judges); Supreme Court or Court of Cassation (organised into several circuits, each with 5 judges)
• home to the largest opera house in the Middle East
• Kuwait’s National Cultural District is a member of the Global Cultural Districts Network
• mobile cellular subscriptions: ranked first for amongst Muslim countries in 2012

Enquire now about this focus area.